Coenzyme Q10 (ubichinone)
Coenzyme Q10 (ubichinone)

Coenzyme Q10 (ubichinone)

What is coenzyme Q10?

The new star of mitochondrial therapy, coenzyme Q10 is a vitamin-like compound and a major contributor to the generation of energy at the cellular level. Like vitamins, it performs a vital function in our bodies. Coenzymes support the activity of enzymes, but unlike enzymes they are themselves used up in the process and must therefore be regularly replaced. And unlike vitamins, coenzymes can be produced by the body itself. But in times of increased need for coenzymes (e.g. during sporting activity), the body's own production of coenzyme Q10 may no longer suffice. The supply of this coenzyme would then need to be increased via nutrition or nutritional supplements.

Other names for coenzymes Q10 are ubiquinone 10, UQ, Q and Q-10

Structure of coenzyme Q10 [ubiquinone]

The name ubiquinone derives from the fact that, to a certain extent, coenzyme Q10 is available everywhere (i.e. ubiquitous) in all human, animal and plant cells, and from a chemical point of view has a ring-like quinone structure.

Thanks to its lipophilic ('fat-loving') side chain, coenzyme Q10 possesses fat-soluble properties. We therefore find this coenzyme mostly in our membranes – in the skin, in our cells and in the cells' 'organs', the organelles. It therefore follows that coenzyme Q10 is particularly important for the mitochondria.

Coenzym Q10 (Ubichinon)
Coenzym Q10 (Ubichinon)
hypo-A Q 10 plus Vitamin C Kapseln

Coenzym Q10 (Ubichinon)

hypo-A Q 10 plus Vitamin C Kapseln

Was ist Coenzym Q10?

Coenzym Q10 ist als eine vitaminähnliche, körpereigene Verbindung der neue Star der Therapie der Mitochondrien - der Zellkraftwerke zur Energiegewinnung. Ähnlich wie Vitamine erfüllt Coenzym Q10 lebenswichtige Aufgaben im unserem Körper. Coenzyme wie Coenzym Q10 unterstützen Enzyme in ihrer Arbeit. Im Gegensatz zu Enzymen werden Coenzyme dabei jedoch verbraucht und müssen entsprechend regelmäßig nachgeliefert werden. Coenzym Q10 kann - anders als Vitamine - vom Körper selber gebildet werden. Ist der Bedarf, z.B. durch Leistungssport, erhöht, reicht die körpereigene-Bildung von Coenzym Q10 unter Umständen nicht mehr aus. Dann muss der Vitalstoff Coenzym Q10 zusätzlich über die Nahrung bzw. Nahrungsergänzungsmittel zugeführt werden.

Andere Namen für Coenzym Q10 sind Ubichinon 10, UQ, Q oder Q-10

Struktur des Coenzyms Q10 (Ubichinon)

Die Bezeichnung "Ubichinon" rührt daher, dass Coenzym Q10 gewissermaßen überall (ubiquitär = überall vorkommend) - in allen Körperzellen von Menschen, Tieren und Pflanzen - vorkommt und chemisch gesehen eine ringförmige Chinon-Struktur besitzt.

Durch seine lipophile ("fettliebende") Seitenkette besitzt Coenzym Q10 fettlösliche Eigenschaften. Entsprechend finden wir Coenzym Q10 vor allem in unseren Membranen, also gewissermaßen in den Häuten, unserer Zellen und deren "Organen", den Zellorganellen.

Besonders bedeutsam ist Coenzym Q10 dabei in den Mitochondrien.