Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia

Welcome to our encyclopaedia for dietary supplements.  Here you will find important information about micronutrients that are indispensable for our health.  The micronutrients presented in our encyclopaedia for dietary supplements include the following in particular

  • Vitamins,
  • Minerals,
  • Trace elements.

Additional focal points of our encyclopaedia about dietary supplements are viable bacteria, omega-3 fatty acids, omega-6 fatty acids and coenzyme Q 10.

Nutrients as the Basis of our Health

To ensure that our metabolism can function smoothly, we need all essential micronutrients in a sufficient amount and in a balanced ratio.  They are the basis for health and vitality.  Therefore, everyone should ensure a high content of valuable micronutrients for their diet.  Particularly rich in vitamins, etc. are fresh, ripe fruit and vegetables as well as whole-grain products.  If you further wish to improve your supply of micronutrients, you can reach for products for dietary supplementation, so-called dietary supplements.  

Dietary supplements as food

Dietary supplements are categorised with food in Germany and are subject to food laws.  In contrast to food, dietary supplements typically contain vitamins and minerals in an enriched, concentrated form.  In addition to a diet that is as healthy as possible, dietary supplements should ensure an optimal provision of minerals and vitamins.

Quantity Element or Trace Element – it Depends on the Amount

 

Depending on what amounts of minerals exist in our body; we differentiate quantity and trace elements.  Minerals, which are only present in “traces” of up to 50 mg per kg of body weight, are identified as trace elements.  What exceeds that is regarded as a “quantity element”.  Frequently, however, we speak only of minerals and trace elements particularly with respect to dietary supplements, although quantity and trace elements are actually what is meant.  Based on the broad usage of this form of expression, we will use the terms “mineral” and “trace element” as well on our website.

VitaminsQuantity elementsTrace elements
Vitamin ACalciumChrome
Vitamin B1ChlorineIron
Vitamin B2PotassiumFluoride
Vitamin B3MagnesiumIode
Vitamin B6SodiumCopper
Vitamin B12PhosphorusManganese
Vitamin CMolybdenium
Vitamin D3Selenium
Vitamin EZinc
Vitamin K

Which Vitamins and Minerals belong in Dietary Supplements?

Which vitamins and minerals may be used in the manufacturing of dietary supplements is precisely regulated in the Ordinance governing Dietary Supplements (NemV).  For the safety of the consumer, it also regulates in which chemical compound a vitamin or mineral may be used in products for dietary supplementation.
Permitted Vitamins and Minerals in Dietary Supplements
 

 

What else is found in dietary supplements?

In addition to vitamins and minerals, dietary supplements can contain additional substances that are essential for our health.  This includes, e.g. coenzyme Q 10 as well as unsaturated omega-3 fatty acids and omega-6 fatty acids.  Probiotic bacteria for intestinal care can also be a component of products for dietary supplementation.
In addition, many dietary supplements contain additives such as colouring and preservatives.  However, because these are not very beneficial for our health, you would be best served to avoid them altogether. 

You can purchase dietary supplementation products in many different forms for administration – whether as a solution, tablet, capsule, powder, drop, effervescent tablet or granule – most of them contain anything other than only vitamins and other micronutrients.  Many products undoubtedly contain pressing additives, lubricants for tablet press machines, stabilisers and other technical additives, without which they could not even be produced.  What may be helpful for manufacturing, however, unnecessarily burdens our health.  Intestinal disorders and allergies are possible health consequences.  Therefore, you should always ensure that the products that you purchase for dietary supplementation are free of these additives, as well as flavouring, preservatives, etc.  You are most likely to meet with success with powders and capsules because these – given appropriate awareness and technical know-how – can also be made without additives, which only unnecessarily burden our health.

Lexikon zur Nahrungsergänzung
Lexikon zur Nahrungsergänzung

Lexikon zur Nahrungsergänzung

Willkommen in unserem Lexikon zu Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln. Hier finden Sie wichtige Informationen zu Mikronährstoffen, die für unsere Gesundheit unverzichtbar sind. Zu den Mikronährstoffen, die in unserem Lexikon für Nahrungsergänzungsmittel vorgestellt werden, gehören insbesondere

  • Vitamine,
  • Mineralstoffe,
  • Spurenelemente.

Weitere Schwerpunkte unseres Lexikons zu Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln sind Probiotika, Omega-3-Fettsäuren, Omega-6-Fettsäuren und Coenzym Q 10.

Nährstoffe als Basis unserer Gesundheit

Nährstoffe als Basis unserer Gesundheit

Damit unser Stoffwechsel reibungslos ablaufen kann, benötigen wir alle essenziellen Mikronährstoffe in ausreichender Menge und in einem ausgewogenen Verhältnis. Sie sind die Basis für Gesundheit und Vitalität. Daher sollte jeder bei seiner Ernährung auf einen hohen Gehalt an wertvollen Mikronährstoffen achten. Besonders reich an Vitaminen & Co. sind frisches, reifes Obst und Gemüse sowie Vollkornprodukte. Wer darüber hinaus seine Versorgung mit Mikronährstoffen verbessern will, kann zu Produkten zur Nahrungsergänzung, sog. Nahrungsergänzungsmittel greifen.

Nahrungsergänzungsmittel als Lebensmittel

Nahrungsergänzungsmittel als Lebensmittel - die Basis unserer Gesundheit

Nahrungsergänzungsmittel werden in Deutschland den Lebensmitteln zugeordnet und unterliegen dem Lebensmittelrecht. Anders als Lebensmittel enthalten Nahrungsergänzungsmittel Vitamine und Mineralstoffe typischerweise in angereicherter, konzentrierter Form. Ergänzend zu einer möglichst gesunden Ernährung sollen Nahrungsergänzungsmittel für eine optimale Versorgung mit Mineralien und Vitaminen sorgen.

Mengenelement oder Spurenelement – auf die Menge kommt es an

Mengenelement oder Spurenelement – auf die Menge kommt es an

Je nachdem, in welchen Mengen Mineralstoffe in unserem Körper vorkommen, unterscheidet man Mengen- und Spurenelemente. Mineralstoffe, die nur in „Spuren“ von bis zu 50 mg pro kg Körpergewicht vorhanden sind, werden als Spurenelemente bezeichnet. Was darüber liegt, gilt als „Mengenelement.“ Häufig spricht man jedoch gerade auch bei Nahrungsergänzungen nur von Mineralstoffen und Spurenelementen, während eigentlich Mengen- und Spurenelemente gemeint sind. Aufgrund der großen Verbreitung dieser Sprechweise verwenden wir die Begriffe „Mineralstoff“ und „Spurenelement“ so auch auf unseren Internetseiten.

Welche Vitamine und Mineralstoffe gehören in Nahrungsergänzungsmittel?

Welche Mineralstoffe, Spurenelemente etc. sind Nahrungsergänzungen?

Welche Vitamine und Mineralstoffe bei der Herstellung von Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln verwendet werden dürfen, ist genau in der Verordnung über Nahrungsergänzungsmittel (NemV) geregelt. Sie legt zum Schutz der Käufer auch fest, in welcher chemischen Verbindung ein Vitamin oder Mineralstoff in Produkten zur Nahrungsergänzung benutzt werden darf.

Erlaubte Vitamine und Mineralstoffe in Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln

 

VitamineMengenelementeSpurenelemente
Vitamin A (inkl. Beta-Carotin als Provitamin A)CalciumChrom
Vitamin B1 (Thiamin)ChlorEisen
Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin)KaliumFluor
Vitamin B3 (Niacin)MagnesiumJod
Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxin)NatriumKupfer
Vitamin B12 (Cobalamin)PhosphorMangan
Vitamin C (Ascorbinsäure)Molybdän
Vitamin D (u.a. Cholecalciferol)Selen
Vitamin E (alpha-Tocopherol)Zink
Vitamin K
Biotin
Folsäure (Vitamin B9)
Pantothensäure (Vitamin B5)

Überarbeitet nach Anlage 1 der NemV vom 24.5.2004

 

Was steckt sonst in Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln?

Nahrungsergänzung - Was gehört dazu?

Neben Vitaminen und Mineralstoffen können Nahrungsergänzungsmittel weitere Stoffe enthalten, die für unsere Gesundheit unerlässlich sind. Hierzu gehören z.B. das Coenzym Q 10 sowie ungesättigte Omega-3-Fettsäuren und Omega-6-Fettsäuren. Auch probiotische Bakterien zur Darmpflege können Bestandteil von Produkten zur Nahrungsergänzung sein.

Daneben enthalten viele Nahrungsergänzungsmittel Zusatzstoffe wie Farb- und Konservierungsstoffe. Da diese der Gesundheit jedoch wenig zuträglich sind, sollten Sie lieber einen großen Bogen darum machen.

Nahrungsergänzungsmittel als Kapsel, Tablette oder Lösung?

Nahrungsergänzung - Was gehört dazu?

Produkte zur Nahrungsergänzung können Sie in vielen verschiedenen Darreichungsformen kaufen: Ob Lösung, Tablette, Kapsel, Pulver, Dragee, Brausetablette oder Granulate: Die meisten von ihnen enthalten alles andere als nur Vitamine und andere Mikronährstoffe. Viele Produkte zu Nahrungsergänzung enthalten unweigerlich Presshilfsstoffe, Schmierstoffe für Tablettiermaschinen, Stabilisatoren und andere technische Hilfsstoffe, ohne die sie gar nicht hergestellt werden könnten. Was für die Fertigung hilfreich sein mag, belastet jedoch unnötig unsere Gesundheit. Darmstörungen und Allergien sind mögliche gesundheitliche Folgen. Achten Sie daher darauf, dass die Produkte, die Sie zur Nahrungsergänzung kaufen, frei von diesen Hilfsstoffen, aber auch Geschmacksstoffen, Konservierungsmitteln usw. sind. Am ehesten fündig werden können Sie bei Pulvern und Kapseln, da diese – entsprechendes Bewusstsein und technisches Know how vorausgesetzt – auch ohne Zusatzstoffe auskommen können, die unsere Gesundheit nur unnötig belasten.